News 2016

Title:  Mountaineering Ireland - AGM
Date:  02/03/2016


Mountaineering Ireland's Spring Gathering 2016 will take place this weekend in Lisdoonvarna, Co. Clare. As part of this event Mountaineering Ireland will be holding its AGM. Notice of this was given in early December 2015. The AGM and Member’s Forum will take place on Saturday evening (5th March 2016).

AGM Timeframe

The timeframe for the AGM and Member’s Forum is as follows:
17.00 Meeting of Honorary and Individual members
17.30 - 18:00 Registration for Mountaineering Ireland AGM
18.00 Mountaineering Ireland AGM
18:45 Mountaineering Ireland Member’s Forum


The above AGM programme will take place in the Ritz Hotel on the Square in Lisdoonvarna and tea / coffee and scones will be available for all.

Notice of AGM 

Preliminary notice of the date, time and venue decided by the Board for the AGM was given in early December 2015 to all members in the publication of the Irish Mountain Log Issue No. 116. The December 2015 notice invited motions for discussion at the AGM and nominations for the Board. The Board of Mountaineering Ireland will be up for election at the AGM. All Mountaineering Ireland members have the right to attend the AGM and vote.

Current Board & Board Nominations
The current Board of Mountaineering Ireland is: Ursula MacPherson, President; Ross Millar, Chairperson; Nicky Hore, Honorary Treasurer; Irene Sorohan, Honorary Secretary. In addition, the current board has the following members: Paul Barron; David Batt; Frank Bradley; Maeve McKeever; Mike Maunsell; Patrick O’Sullivan; Dawson Stelfox; Una Vejsbjerg; Shay Walsh

Four nominations for the new Board of Mountaineering Ireland were received 

Simon Walsh, Francis Hackett, Alan Tees and Paul Kellagher. At the AGM the following are available for election to the new Board of Mountaineering Ireland, or for or co-option after the first meeting of the new Board; Simon Walsh, Francis Hackett, Alan Tees, Paul Kellagher, Ursula MacPherson, Ross Millar, Nicky Hore, Irene Sorohan, Paul Barron, Mike Maunsell, Patrick O’Sullivan, Dawson Stelfox and Shay Walsh. The following nomination was received for President of Mountaineering Ireland: Paul Kellagher. Other position to be filled are the position of Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary. The nominations to be put to the members for both positions are the respective Honorary Treasurer Nicky Hore, and the Honorary Secretary, Irene Sorohan. Where a nomination for a position does appear on the AGM agenda, nominations may still be made from the floor of the AGM, but only with the permission of the Chair, for compelling reasons.

Policy Developments

MI’s new bolting policy will be presented to the AGM for consideration and approval.

Related supporting documentation:

Mountaineering Ireland - AGM Agenda 2016

2016 Spring Gathering Programme

2015 Annual Review
2015 Audited Accounts
Mountaineering Ireland’s Memorandum & Articles of Association 

Mountaineering Ireland - Bolting Policy 2016


Important information regarding cookies

This site requires cookies, which are small text files that the site puts on your computer, to operate. These cookies help us provide a better service to you. We use these cookies to track general user traffic information and to help the site function properly. Cookies are used by approximately 92% of all sites on the internet.