Climbing Wall Leading Award (CWLA)/Climbing Wall Development Instructor (CWDI) (Launch 02/04/2018)


This Award trains and assesses candidates in the skills required to teach lead climbing skills on indoor or outdoor artificial climbing walls and structures with fixed protection in the UK & Ireland. It builds on the skills acquired in either the Climbing Wall Award (CWA) /Climbing Wall Instructor (CWI) or Single Pitch Award (SPA)/Rock Climbing Instructor (RCI). Candidates registering for the Climbing Wall Leading Award /(Climbing Wall Development Instructor) must already hold either a CWA /CWI or SPA/RCI.


Download CWLA Syllabus here

Click here to read about the Climbing Wall Development Instructor

Registering for the CWLA/CWDI:

Before registering for the CWLA/CWDI candidates must:


·         Be at least 18 years old

·         Hold either a CWA/CWI or SPA/RCI

·         Have led at least 50 climbs

·         At least 25 of the above must be at grade F6a or above

·         Have climbed at at least 3 major indoor climbing walls

·         Have belayed a leader on at least 50 climbs

·         Have at least 25 supervising sessions post CWA/CWI/SPA/RCI